« Back


Dr. Nate Kohn is a scholar, educator, motion picture writer and producer, and festival director.

At the University of Georgia's prestigious Grady College of Journalism and Mass Communication, Dr. Kohn holds the position of Associate Professor, teaching courses in writing for the screen, producing for film and television, cultural studies, and critical theory. He has published widely in scholarly journals and presented peer reviewed papers at the annual meetings of such academic associations as the Modern Language Association, the Society for Cinema Studies, the National Communications Association, and International Communications Association. His areas of research include motion pictures, writing for the screen, film festivals, critical tourism, qualitative methodology, autoethnography, and postmodernism. He was recently selected as a Lilly Teaching Fellow. Dr. Kohn holds the Ph.D. in communications research from the University of Illinois.

Dr. Kohn is festival director and co-founder of Roger Ebert's Overlooked Film Festival, hosted by Chicago Sun-Times film critic Roger Ebert. Held every April at the University of Illinois' College of Communication and at the historic Virginia Theatre in Champaign, Illinois, Ebertfest celebrates films that Roger Ebert considers overlooked by distributors, critics, and/or audiences.

Dr. Kohn's credits as a motion picture producer include the Academy Award nominated Zulu Dawn, directed by Douglas Hickox and starring Burt Lancaster, Peter O'Toole, John Mills, Simon Sabela, Ken Gampu, and Bob Hoskins. In television, he produced the American version of the award winning British Channel 4 children's science series Abracadabra. He has written commissioned screenplays for companies in Los Angeles, London, Munich, Toronto, Montreal, Zagreb, and Johannesburg, and has been a consultant to production companies in Norway, Britain, and Germany. He continues to work as a writer, producer, and consultant.

Dr. Kohn also serves as chairman of an entertainment selection committee for the George Foster Peabody Awards.