Student Academy Awards®

Established in 1973 the Student Academy Awards® is a national competition conducted by the Academy and the Academy Foundation. Each year over 300 college and university film students from all over the United States compete for awards and cash grants, with films being judged in four categories: animation, documentary, narrative and alternative. An outstanding student filmmaker from outside the U.S. is honored each year as well. The presentation ceremony is a popular event that is annually attended by a capacity audience in the Academy's Samuel Goldwyn Theater.

Through the Student Academy Awards®, the Academy recognizes and encourages this country's most promising new filmmakers. Past winners include Spike Lee, Gary Nadeau, Bob Saget, Trey Parker and Oscar winners John Lasseter and Robert Zemeckis.

To extend the impact and honor beyond the competition, a compilation presentation of the gold medal award-winning films is circulated each year free of charge to educational and non-profit organizations nationwide, utilizing a grant from Eastman Kodak.


Buy Related Film Movement Films